AWARD-winning author Julian Sedgwick visited us on the evening of March 2nd to join in on our annual Writing Competition celebrations.

Pupils in Year 3 through to Year 11 were invited to put pen to paper for the competition and the winners and runners-up from each year group – and their families – were invited to a Prizegiving Ceremony at the Old Palace.

Congratulations to all our winners: Freja Barnham, Zai Spencer, Theodora Spufford, Harriet Bailey, Amber Davison, Leo Ost, William Tregoing, Cassius Pennington, Christian-Peter Hiemstra, Alice Petre-Firth and Saffron Thomas-Williams.

Congratulations also to our runners-up: Maddie Scothern, Will Daniel, Bertie Whymark, Helen Li, Josephine Uhi, Ellie Grimsey, Indigo Flatman, Aoife Grant, Harry Dean, Rohan Neat, Jemma Basford, Isobel Guyer, James Allen, Felix Hughes and Rosalind Crowe.

Katie Mankellow, Head of Key Stage 3 English at King’s Ely, said: “It was a really wonderful evening. All of our winners and runners-up were awarded with a voucher and a certificate, and the winners from each year group read out their piece in the Old Palace Lecture Theatre in front of their families and teachers.

“Author Julian Sedgwick opened the evening and was thoroughly impressed when reading the students’ work. It was a superb way to launch our Reading Festival this week and I would like to thank everyone who made the Writing Competition and the Prizegiving Ceremony such a success.”

Back to all news