Full name:

Susannah Huse

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Melbourne, Australia, but also spent five years of my childhood living in Singapore.


I undertook most of my schooling in Melbourne, except for a few years in Singapore during primary school. I completed my Bachelor of Music in Melbourne and moved to the UK in 2018 to do a Master of Music in Glasgow.

Your previous place of work and role:

My role at King’s Ely will be my first full-time place of employment, however I have worked part-time for many years in music teaching, hospitality, child-minding and sports coaching.

What are you most looking forward to about joining King’s Ely?

I am really excited to be joining a school with such incredible facilities. I am especially looking forward to working with the Junior Choristers and being able to hear them sing in Ely Cathedral.

Hobbies/interests outside of school:

Music is a passion of mine and I achieved a Masters in Jazz Voice, as well as performing gigs around Melbourne and Glasgow. I also grew up playing football and started coaching in Australia. I no longer coach sports, but I still love to play for fun.

Any pets?

I have a cat back in Australia called Jack, who’s 11 years old (I think). My boyfriend has an Irish Setter puppy called Rowan, who I now consider as my own.

What did you want to be when you were growing up?

I always knew I wanted to do something related to music, but my ultimate dream job when I was younger was to be a singing hairdresser!

If you could have a superpower, what would it be?

I’d love to be able to fly; you’d never be late anywhere and you could go on holidays whenever you wanted!

What was the last book you read?

‘Normal People’ by Sally Rooney.

What song are you most likely to sing at a karaoke?

I’m not much of a karaoke-performer, but my dad’s karaoke song is ‘I Will Survive’ and it’s always a winner.

What is your favourite film?

I love a romantic comedy and my current favourite is ‘About Time’, however another movie that I could watch again and again is ‘Inception’.

Do you have any phobias or fears?

No phobias but I hate spiders.

Name three things you would want with you if stranded on a desert island for a week:

I would want a way of listening to music (which is normally my phone but I feel bringing a phone along on a desert island is cheating). I’d also bring a football and a good book!

Back to all news