OUR King’s, Queen’s and International Scholars for 2021 were formally installed after Choral Evensong at Ely Cathedral on April 23rd.

The service was nowhere near as busy as it usually would be due to the current restrictions, but it was wonderful to be able to welcome some of the Scholars’ family members to the event in a socially-distanced manner.

This year’s King’s Scholars are: Sam Barber, John-Oswald Crichton, Matthew Danes and Philippos Papafilippou.

This year’s Queen’s Scholars are: Madison Boldero, Charlotte Bradley, Olivia Haynes, Eleanor MacGillivray, Annie Moore, Amelia Shaw, Phoebe Sutton and Sarah White.

Our 2021 International Scholars are: Tian (Blaine) Zhou, and Qiyu (Hallie) Ye.

King’s Scholars were inaugurated by Henry VIII in 1541, followed by Queen’s Scholars at the request of Queen Elizabeth II in 1973. The Scholarships are honorary positions, awarded annually on the basis of students’ GCSE results.

Scholars, who are all Year 12 students at King’s Ely Sixth Form, become members of the Cathedral Foundation, strengthening the special link between King’s Ely and the Cathedral, and they also qualify for other privileges and appointments throughout the year.

Back to all news